Prof. John Mills Wins ISJAC SONIC Award

ISJAC award winners posterCongrats to Professor of Composition and Saxophone, Dr. John Mills, who has just won a SONIC award from ISJAC (International Society of Jazz Arrangers and Composers). His new work, “Round and Round the Sun” will be featured at the 2019 International Jazz Composers Symposium at UNC in Greeley, Colorado.

Also big congrats to UT alumni Paul G. White – also a SONIC Award winner – as well as Bryan Kennard and current UT student (and UT Jazz Orchestra member) Thomas Wenglinski who will be presenting new works in the masterclass and poster sessions. The symposium will feature faculty composers Chris Potter, Darcy James Argue, Bill Frisell, Christine Jensen, Ron Miles, and Vince Mendoza.